Skip Navigation Website Accessibility
Call Us: 517-339-REED

Meridian Winds


Brahms, Johannes (arr. Canfield): How Lovely is Thy Dwelling Place for Saxophone Quartet

“How Lovely is Thy Dweling Place” is one of the seven movements in Brahms’ A German Requiem. Although the Requiem Mass in the Roman Catholic liturgy begins with prayers for the dead ("Grant them eternal rest, O Lord"), A German Requiem focuses on the living, beginning with the text "Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted." Brahms composed the requiem mass between 1865 and 1868. Brahms himself made an alternate arrangement of the music as a piano duet, four hands on one piano, including the vocal parts, probably for use in a home or as a chamber performance.

This arrangement for saxophone quartet by David DeBoor Canfield was done in 2013 for the memorial service of Dr. Thomas Liley, who was well-known in the saxophone world as performer, pedagogue, scholar, lecturer, researcher and biographer. The music is scored for soprano, alto, tenor and baritone saxophones. The set comes with both full score and parts. Duration: approximately 5.5 minutes.

    • Mon-Tues: 10am to 7pm
    • Wed-Fri: 10am to 6pm
    • Sat: 10am to 2pm

    2807 Jolly Rd Suite 300
    Okemos, MI 48864